Gate City's Thompson, Houseright take top Class 2 honors from VHSCA

Kevin Mays • May 10, 2020 at 8:15 PM

Gate City’s Sarah Thompson and Kelly Houseright were named the Virginia High School Coaches Association girls basketball Class 2 player and coach of the year on Sunday.

Thompson, a junior who is attracting interest from NCAA Division I schools such as East Tennessee State and Radford, averaged 16.8 points, 6 rebounds, 4.3 assists and 3.4 steals per game last season.

Houseright guided the Lady Blue Devils to the state championship, a 64-54 win over Luray in March.

Other players out of Region D making the VHSCA all-state first team were Union senior Jayda Smith, Ridgeview sophomore Brooklyn Frazier and Lebanon senior Averie Price. Wise Central’s Hannah Carter, a senior, and Virginia High senior Ale Sydnor were second-team selections.

Patrick Henry’s Breanna Yarber, a junior, was tabbed the Class 1 player of the year, and Honaker’s Misty Miller, who directed her Lady Tigers to the state co-championship, was the Class 1 coach of the year.

Other Class 1 first-teamers from Region D were Honaker’s LeeAnna McNulty and Eastside’s Anna Whited, both juniors. Eastside senior Kaylee Yates, Honaker junior Akilah Boyd and Rural Retreat senior Michaela Fiscus were second-team picks.

Abingdon senior Peyton Carter, who has signed to play at Tennessee Tech, made the VHSCA Class 3 all-state first team.



Player of the Year

Sarah Thompson, Gate City

Coach of the Year

Kelly Houseright, Gate City

First Team

Sarah Thompson, Gate City, Jr.

Emilee Weakly, Luray, So.

Alexis Kiser, Floyd County, Jr.

Jayda Smith, Union, Sr.

Christyan Reid, Strasburg, Sr.

Brooklyn Frazier, Ridgeview, So.

Amaya Lucas, Buffalo Gap, Jr.

Averie Price, Lebanon, Sr.

Jaedyn Cook, Thomas Jefferson, Fr.

Second Team

Brylee Burill, Luray, Jr.

Sanijah Robinson, Greensville County, Jr.

Sierra Hubbard, Patrick County, Jr.

McKinney Fitzgerald, Stuarts Draft, Jr.

Allie Patterson, King William, So.

Tynasia Witcher, Gretna, So.

Ale Sydnor, Virginia High, Sr.

Hannah Carter, Wise Central, Sr.


Player of the Year

Breanna Yarber, Patrick Henry

Coach of the Year

Misty Miller, Honaker

First Team

Breanna Yarber, Patrick Henry, Jr.

Brecha Byrd, Surry County, Sr.

Drea Betts, George Wythe, Jr.

Brianna Rich, Rappahannock, Sr.

Berkley Tyree, Riverheads, Jr.

Shea Foxx, Galax, Sr.

LeeAnna McNulty, Honaker, Jr.

Anna Whited, Eastside, Jr.

Second Team

Harmony Taylor, Lancaster, Sr.

Maeyanna Delk, Northampton, Sr.

Candace Slaw, Rappahannock, Fr.

Jamia Flythe, Franklin, Sr.

NeOndra Kelly, Surry County, Sr.

Michaela Fiscus, Rural Retreat, Sr.

Kaylee Yates, Eastside, Sr.

Akilah Boyd, Honaker, Jr.


Player of the Year

Stephanie Ouderkirk, Spotswood

Coach of the Year

Renee Favaro, Lord Botetourt

First Team

Stephanie Ouderkirk, Spotswood, Sr.

Martha Apple, William Monroe, Sr.

Jaelyn Brown, Lakeland, Fr.

Peyton Carter, Abingdon, Sr.

McKenzie Freeze, Spotswood, Sr.

Saniyah Glasgow, Booker T. Washington, Fr.

Miette Veldman, Lord Botetourt, Sr.

Alden Yergey, Brentsville District, Fr.

Zoraida Icabalceta, George Mason, So.

Second Team

Lexi Bennington, Spotswood, Sr.

Ke’monye Canady, Lakeland, So.

Katie Easter, Carrol County, Fr.

Abigail Kennedy, Carroll County, Jr.

Zada Porter, Cave Spring, Jr.

Taylor Robertson, Lord Botetourt, Sr.

Becca Shiflet, Turner Ashby, Jr.

Kylie Stark, Brookville, Sr.


The site administrator has disabled comments for this story.